WEA- We've Got Standards

The WEA approach to outdoor leadership training and development is based on six educational components applicable to all people living and working in the outdoors, whether a person is an outdoor enthusiast or a full-time professional: Outdoor Living, Planning and Logistics, Risk Management, Leadership, Environmental Integration, and Education. These educational components were derived from the original 18-Point Curriculum developed in the early years of the WEA. 

Within the WEA model, Judgment is not a separate educational component. Rather, the WEA considers judgment an integral element to each of the six educational components. Hence the 6+1 language: Six educational components plus One (judgment).

Outdoor educators and leaders are often presented with decision-making challenges in an uncertain environment with limited information. We demonstrate sound judgment by integrating educational components and situational variables to make and implement quality decisions. Accurate assessment and application of skills using judgment is the central quality of an effective outdoor educator or leader.

THE WEA 6 +1:

Click on each box to learn more.


outdoor-living         Planning-Logistics

Leadership        Risk Management

Environmental Integration         Education